Why do i need a power supply?

DroneMaster278

New elf
Hello, I am new to the hobby, and i am running 600 LEDs on my shed with 2 ESP32 with WLED controlled by xLights. I have seen a lot of videos online, and all of them say to use a power supply. I was wondering why this is. I had an old 12V plug from dumb LED strips i had, and that seems to be working fine. I was wondering if it really necessary to buy a power supply or if i can continue to use my plug. Thanks!

CargoLights

Apprentice elf
Generous elf
So, that 12V plug is a power supply. There are some concerns with using a 12V wall adapter, like whether it is fused and whether it provides enough power for the lights you are going to run. You will need to check how many amps your lights will pull and compare it with the value on the wall adapter, then account for how much power your controllers can pull as well. A 12V wall adapter is likely 1A or less. That will not even power 25 pixels at 100% brightness full white. Running more lights than your power supply can handle can result in it overheating and risk electrical fire.

DroneMaster278

New elf
Thanks! so i have not noticed any problems so far, is it safe to use? I currently have 2 plugs set up.

Iain

Full time elf
Fusing it is probably your best bet. It probably comes with wires to match the max output of the strings it was sold for. It may look fine when the effects are doing their thing, but if something caused them all to go white (it happens) you may end up with some melting cables. It wouldn't be too hard to splice a fuse in there.

The choice is endless. Lots of people use Meanwell power supplies but they require an electrician to wire the 240V side. Size it to your (desired) display on full white + 10%. I also isolate my separate strings with their own fuses.

MikeKrebs

Full time elf
Simple test (not a definitive one). Touch them with your hand after they have been running for a bit. How warm are they?

DroneMaster278

New elf